l2 bsn

Not All Who Wander Are Lost… Everything you ever wanted to know about my Dominican mission work

Our sponsor student

Leave a comment

Ah… another heart-warming moment in the Dominican Republic.  I got to visit with our sponsor student, Yasiri, for the first time since last May.

Such a tall girl... she takes after her Mama Americana!

Such a tall girl… she takes after her Mama Americana!

Yasiri goes to school in the afternoon, but we were able to give her a little break from class in order to visit for about 45 minutes.  One of the other mission workers from ONU went with Laura (the Solid Rock social worker) and I.  Elizabeth came highly recommended as a photographer, and she did a great job!

The first real smile from Yasiri during this visit

The first real smile from Yasiri during this visit

As with last year, she was very, very quiet.  It’s difficult to get her to say more than a few words.  I hope that she’s more outspoken at home and school. I’m sure these kind of visits are overwhelming, but she did acknowledge that she remembered me from last year, and that she knew ahead of time that I could be coming to visit.

one of my favorite pics of the whole day

one of my favorite pics of the whole day

On a side note, it seems I mistakenly believed that Yasiri’s mom gave birth to twins this past year.  Her info sheet indicated that there were 2 more siblings in the family, and Yasiri’s annual Christmas note showed a crayon drawing of what I thought were 2 stick-figure babies… but nope.  In the DR, cousins and relatives often come to live in other families, for various reasons.  The best we can figure out is that there are 2 more kids living the in the house, but no more new babies from Mama.

Yasiri was sweet to color a page from the coloring book I brought her.  She concentrated very hard, was careful about choosing her colors and did a great job of staying inside the lines.  She wrote her name on it so I could take it home and hang it in a special place in my house.

Look at that concentration!

Look at that concentration!

As it turns out, Yasiri’s Mom is now working in the local public school.  She had been trying to decide whether to take Yasiri out of the private school, and enroll her in the same school where she works.  Laura told me that Mama decided to keep Yasiri at the private school, and that the deciding factor was her relationship with Don and I as her sponsors.  Doesn’t that just about turn your heart to mush?

We’re so happy that she’ll be staying in the private school, where we believe she has the best chance for an outstanding education to help ensure the best possible future.

Proudly showing her art work!

Proudly showing her art work!

Fortunately, I’ll be able to send a care package to Yasiri, with the ONU group that comes here in the Summer and again at Thanksgiving time.  Up until now, I’ve just been guessing her sizes, but yesterday, she even let me look at the tags of her clothes so I could do a better job with my shopping.  I was pretty close (size 6-7) on everything but the shoes.

Can’t wait to see our little pumpkin again next year!

Headed back to class with her balloon and the school secretary's daughter

Headed back to class with her balloon and the school secretary’s daughter

Leave a Reply

